Digital Motion Sickness – do you suffer from it?

Both The Telegraph and the Daily Mail have reported on digital motion sickness.

Assassin's Creed

The first time I realised something wasn’t quite right was when I was watching and playing video games with my brother-in-law a couple of years ago. I couldn’t figure out why I felt sick.

And then not long after, I wanted to see what all the fuss was about regarding World of Warcraft so I signed up for a free account and started exploring. I lasted exactly 15 minutes, at the end of which I promptly deleted my account and the game from my laptop. Not only did I feel motion sick but a migraine was building.

Computer animation in video games may have advanced, but I remember the days when I had no problem playing Crash Bandicoot and Mario for hours back in the 90s. In the last few years, I’ve been obsessed with strategy games, Age of Empires in particular (don’t touch the online version – that way lies frustration; fingers crossed for AOE4!), so it’s understandable that I didn’t encounter this annoying obstacle sooner.

I’m told people have similar issues when seeing 3D movies. I’ve never seen one. I occasionally wear glasses as I’m short-sighted so viewing one would be complicated, but I’m not really interested in paying extra for what is essentially a gimmick.

Does digital motion sickness affect anyone else? Or am I alone in this?

One thought on “Digital Motion Sickness – do you suffer from it?

Leave a Reply

