On Being Asked to do Another’s Homework

cheating on test

A couple of hours ago I received this private message on Goodreads:

Hi!

I saw you rated the short-story The Lottery by Shirley Jackson here on Goodreads. I’m doing a school assignment and have to compare dystopian traits in two fictional works to elements in society. But I don’t know where to start if I want to compare dystopian traits in The Lottery to our society. Do you have any thoughts or something that can help me start? I would really appreciate it if so!

I like your homework. Did you read my review?:

Available as a free PDF.

“Is that it?” was my first thought upon finishing. The only thing saving this is the thought that it was written in 1948, post-WWII. Wartime involved conscription, a national lottery picking random men to become soldiers and sending them to die. Thinking of The Lottery in light of this, and the complicit conformity and reluctance to abandon tradition, together with the similarity to [book:The Hunger Games|2767052], provided enough context for me to appreciate this short story.

I haven’t responded. Clearly this person needs to read more and ask less. I’m not spoon-feeding them. It wouldn’t surprise me if they’ve spammed everyone who rated it. Anyone who replies will no doubt be plagiarized.

One thought on “On Being Asked to do Another’s Homework

Leave a Reply

