Daily Archives: August 19, 2014

LonCon3 #2: Hugo Awards Voter Pack

With my full membership ticket came the Hugo Awards Voter Pack which included an avalanche of e-freebies (a £25 supporter membership also gave access to the pack – I’ll probably buy one of these next year as I can’t afford to attend in person) which included artwork, podcasts, and ebooks such as:

A 14-book omnibus of The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson
Hard Magic (Grimnoir Chronicles #1) by Larry Correia
Spellbound (Grimnoir Chronicles #2) by Larry Correia
Warbound (Grimnoir Chronicles #3) by Larry Correia

Continue reading LonCon3 #2: Hugo Awards Voter Pack

LonCon3 #1: Overview

WorldCon 2014 London LonCon3

I attended my first WorldCon (14-18 Aug) over the weekend. In four days I went to 33 panels and saw countless authors and bloggers, including a few of my favourites. Exhausted, I decided to skip Monday’s events to come home earlier than planned, saddled with heavy bags on each shoulder like a mule.

We in the UK don’t have huge conventions like ComicCon so for years my being has turned green with envy whenever my fellow American readers mention them. This was likely my only chance to attend something with literally hundreds of authors making an appearance and where being an introverted reader is welcome and “normal”. For once I wasn’t the only one in the room. As August is my birthday month, I decided to spoil myself with a full 5-day ticket.

Continue reading LonCon3 #1: Overview