What I Want to Read in 2015

Other than to read 100 books, these are my goals for the next year.

New Goals


Own It? Read It. I really need to read books I own, especially paperbacks. I have a whole bookcase (and Kindle) filled with unread books. Last year I managed to buy far fewer books than normal so I’d like to continue with that as well.

Series Catch-Up. I’m behind on so many, even those by my beloved authors though most of the books are currently sitting on my shelves.

Project Shakespeare. 2015 is the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death. I’ve previously read Romeo & Juliet, Macbeth, Othello and The Taming of the Shrew, but since I’ve bought The RSC Shakespeare Complete Works, I better get to work on reading it.

Project Fairy Tale. I own complete works of Grimm (original and censored) and Hans Christian Andersen. Then there are the endless collected tales by Andrew Lang and Joseph Jacobs. I also have non-fiction on fairy tales.

Short Stories. As well as fairy tales, I have The Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allan Poe. I’m also interested in classic and modern sci-fi shorts, some of which have inspired movies, like We Can Remember It For You Wholesale by Philip K. Dick which brought us Total Recall.

Sci-fi & Fantasy. Now that I’ve popped my Ursula Le Guin cherry, I’d really like to read more. My traditional SFF reading has been thin on the ground recently and what I have read I’ve really enjoyed.

The Count of Monte Cristo. Having read 100 pages or so before all hell broke loose and free time became scarce, I’d love to re-start and finish this book.

Long Standing Goals


Non-Fiction. “All knowledge is worth having.”Kushiel’s Dart, Jacqueline Carey

Classics. I’ve been surprised at how many classics I enjoyed reading last year, so I’m looking forward to more.

International Authors & Authors of Colour. Most books are published in the US and the UK by predominantly white authors, so last year I made an effort to read outside of that and I’d like to carry on.

Feminism. It’s time to move onto black feminists or womanists as they’re sometimes called.

Male Authors. Although 50% of the authors I read in 2014 were male, I’m not sure I can keep it up.

I don’t expect to meet all of my goals but I’ll do my best.

 

3 thoughts on “What I Want to Read in 2015

  1. Wow, sounds like you’ve set yourself quite a challenge. Look forward to reading about the books as you go along. Like you I have quite a few unread books on my shelves, so that’s definitely one of my goals. Some I bought for myself, others I inherited from my brother. I think it will take me more than a year, my very modest but probably achievable goal is 20 books,

    Like

Leave a Reply

