A Tale of Jerusalem by Edgar Allan Poe

A Tale of Jerusalem Edgar Allan PoeRating: 

Like with Le Duc de L’Omelette, I needed a translation, and not from French this time. Once again the Examiner saved my bacon.

Apparently this is a spoof of Zillah; a tale of the Holy City (1828) set in Jerusalem 6,000 years ago when animal sacrifices were in vogue. I haven’t read Zillah and my knowledge of this Biblical time and place is virtually non-existent, so I had no idea what the clan names meant or their significance. As a modern reader, when it came to Pharisees, Israelites, Ammonites, Philistines – I pretty much drew a blank, and I didn’t particularly feel like researching them for what is, essentially, a nonsensical short story about a handful of Israelites guessing the species of animal they’ve purchased to be sacrificed. (Spoiler: It turns out to be an ‘unclean’ pig so they throw it back over the wall.) But back in 1832, when A Tale of Jerusalem was published – at the very beginning of Poe’s writing career – a few more readers had probably come across the source material. A little context would’ve been appreciated. On the other hand, considering the quality of writing, I very much doubt it would’ve inspired me to increase my rating.

Again, as a writer, don’t assume your audience is as educated as yourself, and reception of your work may be partially based on whether it stands the test of time.

One thought on “A Tale of Jerusalem by Edgar Allan Poe

Leave a Reply

