Hilarious NHS Complaints Letter from a Desperate Reader

woman reading

Last month Yael Biran broke her elbow in South-East London so she travelled to her local NHS hospital with a book to read while in the waiting rooms. However, the experience was not at all what she expected, so she wrote the following complaints letter.

Dear Lewisham PALs,

I would like to complain about a visit I had to your A&E department on Monday the 15th of June 2015. Sorry in advance for my language, but this really upset me.

On Monday the 15th of June I fell and knew I broke something (turns out I broke my elbow) So I went to Lewisham A&E.

I came armed with a book to help me pass the waiting time! Actually enjoying the fact that I am going to get to read a book for a chance!

But no… the bloody nurse sees me in 6 minutes! 6 ruddy minutes! all I had time for was to send a text, settle down, get my glasses out and find the right page, and they bloody call me in!

She then sends me to have an X-ray and says I need to sit in the x-ray waiting room.

Yay, I think, a waiting room – I will get to read my book!

And so I don’t even bother to put anything back in the bag and happily skip to the x-ray waiting area, book in hand and glasses on top of head. I sit down and get seen within 37 seconds. the B^^&@s!*

All done and dusted and 5 minutes later I skip to the next waiting area to wait for the next nurse to see me.

By that point I think I owe myself a chocolate from the vending machine but waste 5 minutes trying to make it work (it didn’t – at least there is one thing you can count on in this A&E!) I then sit down comfortably, happy in the notion that surly, now… I will get at least a couple of chapters… but no!

2 minutes later I get to see the next nurse who is an absolute gem and is super nice, she explains everything, gives me a sling, and a tetanus shot and sends me on my way home! home! bloody rubbish!

I left home and came back in less than 2 hours! Seriously! something must be done about this! what is a mum to do in order to get a few hours of quiet reading in this country???!!!

Sincerely yours, A frustrated mother of 2 little boys who don’t give her a second’s rest.

P.S. You rock! 🙂

You can read the hospital’s response here.

Image credit: Rekha Garton/Getty

One thought on “Hilarious NHS Complaints Letter from a Desperate Reader

Leave a Reply

