Rant: Feedback Request Overload

tom eversley isorepublic

Ever receive an email from a retailer requesting feedback after you’ve bought something from them? Have you noticed this practice become more common in recent months?

I sure have.

I understand that businesses and even government agencies want to improve their customer service, and under normal circumstances I applaud that, but this never-ending request for feedback is starting to get me down. My email inbox has been inundated in the past few weeks with surveys that will ‘just take a few minutes’.

Absolutely everything I buy online, and some things I don’t, are generating requests. Even at hospitals and clinics I’m receiving a ‘how did we do?’ form before and after every visit, like I can tell you how you did before I see the bloody doctor. Maybe you expect me to critique the building and the receptionist, as well.

Order a takeaway – email. Watch a TV episode on Amazon Prime – email. Visit a clinic – form. Book a flight – email. Book a hotel – email. Order a book – email. Use the library – email. Help out the local council by reporting something small – a gazillion emails.

I can’t take it anymore. Just deleting them as they come in isn’t good enough now. I want another tick box, one that says ‘tick this box if you don’t want to be contacted unless a change in the product or service you’ve purchased and/or used has been made.’ Or something to that effect.

Being constantly badgered for my opinion is exhausting when a) I don’t enjoy spouting the limited joys of a new extension lead, b) there’s no indication that my opinion will have any measurable impact, and c) I won’t be compensated for my time, other than measly odds at winning some godforsaken raffle for a prize I suspect no one wins.

Mystery shoppers and survey organisations like YouGuv are there for a reason, use them. Get on with that and stop bugging me.

Image: Tom Eversley/isorepublic

3 thoughts on “Rant: Feedback Request Overload

    1. Haha! Or the standard corporate response that means nothing. ‘Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry you had a bad experience. We will endeavour to learn from these mistakes and ensure our service is better in future.’ Blah, blah, blah.

      Like

Leave a Reply

